Skip to content
July 8, 2012 / galatianssixnine

Just Listen

So it took me over six months to finally feel the urge to write again.  I guess that’s a good thing, as I am so happy and satisfied where my life has taken me so far.  This year has been so very incredible.

I’m learning a lot, and more importantly, I’m growing a lot.

Anyway, something that has helped me along the way is actually something I read almost two years ago.  It comes from Oswald Chambers:

“The goal of my spiritual life is such close identification with Jesus Christ that I will always hear God and know that God always hears me (see John 11:41). If I am united with Jesus Christ, I hear God all the time through the devotion of hearing. A flower, a tree, or a servant of God may convey God’s message to me. What hinders me from hearing is my attention to other things. It is not that I don’t want to hear God, but I am not devoted in the right areas of my life. I am devoted to things and even to service and my own convictions. God may say whatever He wants, but I just don’t hear Him. The attitude of a child of God should always be, “Speak, for Your servant hears.” If I have not developed and nurtured this devotion of hearing, I can only hear God’s voice at certain times. At other times I become deaf to Him because my attention is to other things— things which I think I must do. This is not living the life of a child of God. Have you heard God’s voice today?”

Essentially, what he was saying is that we sit around asking God to speak, all the while occupying ourselves with things that don’t truly matter. If that’s the case, it’s our fault for not listening.  We must train ourselves to hear.

In other words, we as followers of Christ believe that he lives inside of us, constantly shining his light through us…so why do we hesitate when God opens a door?  Why do wait and pray and pray, demanding to hear His voice, when we’ve been refusing to listen?

I believe this.  I believe that if I am truly one with God, which I strive to maintain every day, that he speaks to me every day.  If I am faced with a challenge or big decision, who am I to doubt that he is there with me the whole time, holding my hand and leading me in the right direction?

The way I discern His voice is by constantly making sure my heart is right. I make sure my focus is right. Is there anyone I have wronged? Is there anyone I haven’t forgiven? Is there anyone I need to ask for forgiveness?

Something I’ve come to believe is that sometimes we get caught up in trying to audibly hear a voice…to hear a choir of angels…for something to click and everything to fall into place via some epiphany. While yes, I have experienced that (well, at least the last thing), it doesn’t always work like that.

I tend to think that a lot of it has to do with my trust in the fact that God has been inside me the whole time, leading the way.

The Answer is not upward, it’s inward.

If I am right with Him…if I have conditioned myself to listen…then I must trust that the decisions I make are God-inspired.  This goes with all decisions, big and small.  If I am truly devoted to Christ, I must trust that he is with me the whole time, influencing my choices.

Sometimes I only hear my own voice when weighing a decision.  Who’s to say that’s not God speaking through me?

Since that realization almost two years ago, I have little regrets.  I do not think that is a coincidence.  Any time I have ever gotten frustrated or angry with God, I immediately ask myself what I’ve been doing to lock Him out.  Usually I find my selfishness there…and once I realize that, I find that He was the whole time. I had just decided to stop listening.

The right decisions. The right choices. They are always in you, as a Christ follower. They are always in you, because that’s where He lives.

Leave a Reply

