Skip to content
August 16, 2011 / galatianssixnine

Blessed

It has happened.  I am officially a full-fledged adult.

I graduated college after 7 1/4 years.  I mean, really it should have been only 5 1/2, as I walked in my graduation in Fall of ’09.  But due to getting a job in Atlanta combined with my own stupidity, I had one class left before officially being recognized as competent by the State and University of Florida.

It was a stupid pre-req.

But it’s done.  I moved back to Gainesville, FL for six weeks, worked my butt off, and got a B- in Microeconomics.

Now I can move on with my life both literally and figuratively.

I have since moved to Alpharetta, GA where I am living with an old college roommate and another pretty awesome dude.  Sure, we may still spend our free time playing video games and discussing the upcoming football season just like we did in college, but we go to work.  We get paid.  We make a living, WITHOUT having to worry about textbooks, papers, & finals.

There will be plenty of things that I miss from college…the football games, the late-night hangouts at Steak & Shake, the ultimate frisbees, the Spring Breaks, the spontaneous nature everyone seems to live by…but I’m glad to be done.  I’m glad to finally move on.

And so my life starts.  I’m working two jobs and loving both of them.  I mean, how many people can say that they love their job- much less TWO of them!

I bring with me the memories and lessons I learned from college, and I am eager to start my new life.  I have no idea what God has in store for me, but I am thankfully in a place where I can sit here and just marvel at how blessed I am…

My family, my friends, my job, a roof over my head, and a car that…well a car that moves.

I am so blessed.

I don’t think I did anything to deserve all of this.  My promise to God is to live the rest of my life trying to earn it.

Leave a Reply

